Travel. News. Migrants. Economy. Health

President Duterte approves September opening for school year in GCQ areas

President Rodrigo Duterte has approved September as the opening of next school year on areas placed under General Community Quarantine  (GCQ) as recommended by the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID).

Presidential spokesperson Harry Roque, in a taped interview on Friday, read the COVID-19 response suggested by IATF-EID which includes the opening of schools in September.

“Iyong option po sa low-risk to moderate areas na buksan by industry consider for 100 percent closure maski po low to moderate risk consider for 100 percent closure pa rin dahil po ang mga transmitters ay kabataan mula edad 0 to 20: lahat ng eskwelahan, i-consider po ang late opening sa Setyembre except po sa online learning,” Roque said.

Earlier, it was announced that Provinces placed under GCQ are Negros Occidental, Negros Oriental, Siquijor, Davao del Sur, Davao Oriental, Sultan Kudarat, Lanao del Sur, Apayao, Mountain Province, Ifugao, Kalinga, Ilocos Sur, Batanes, Quirino, Aurora, Palawan, Romblon, Camarines Norte, Sorsogon, Masbate, Guimaras, Bohol, Biliran, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar, Southern Leyte, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga Sibugay, Bukidnon, Camiguin, Davao Occidental, Sarangani, Agusan del Sur, Dinagat Island, Surigao del Norte, Surigao del Sur, Agusan del Norte, Basilan at Sulu.

Meanwhile, the Department of Education (DepEd) has said before that it is leaning towards August as the new opening of next school year due to the pandemic.

No comments:

Post a comment

Search This Blog

Popular Posts


Blog Archive